Grand celebrations to mark 125th year of Madras HC heritage building

Grand celebrations to mark 125th year of Madras HC heritage building

The 125th anniversary of the Madras High Court Heritage building is being celebrated today. Chief justice of India, justice Dipak Misra, union minister for law and justice, electronics and information technology Ravi Shankar Prasad and Tamil Nadu chief minister Edappadi K Palaniswami among others are part of celebrations.

Justice Misra will inaugurate he renovated old Light House in the High Court campus on the occassion. He will also inaugurate renovated Madras high court museum. After releasing a coffee table book Justice Dipak Misha will deliver the presidential address.

Supreme Court Judges Sanjay Kishan Kaul, R K Agarwal, R Bhanumathi, K K Venugopal, Attorney General of India,State Law Minister C. Ve. Shanmugam and Advocate General of Madras High Court Vijay Narayan will participate in the function.

The Madras High Court is one of the three High Courts in India established in the three Presidency Towns of Bombay, Calcutta and Madras by Letters patent granted by Her Majesty Queen Victoria, bearing date 26 June 1862.

It exercises original jurisdiction over the city of Chennai and appellate jurisdiction over the entire state of Tamil Nadu and Union territory of Puducherry, as well as extraordinary original jurisdiction, civil and criminal, under the Letters Patent and special original jurisdiction for the issue of writs under the Constitution of India.

It consists of 74 judges and a chief justice who are in charge of the general policy adopted in the administration of justice.

The current Chief justice Of Madras High Court is Indira Banerjee. She was sworn in on 5 April 2017.