General Elections to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly, 2021 – Identity documents for those electors who are not able to produce the EPIC

P.R.No.186 Date: 11.03.2021
For the upcoming General Elections to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly, 2021, Election Commission of India has directed that all electors, who have been issued EPIC have to produce the Elector’s Photo Identity
Card for their identification at the polling station before casting their votes.Those electors who are not able to produce the EPIC shall produce one of the following alternative photo identity documents for establishing their identity:-
(i) Aadhaar Card
(ii) MNREGA Job Card
(iii) Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/ Post Office
(iv) Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme
of Ministry of Labour
(v) Driving License
(vi) PAN Card
(vii) Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR
(viii) Indian Passport
(ix) Pension document with photograph
(x) Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to
employees by Central/ State Govt. PSUs/Public Limited
Companies; and
(xi) Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs.
2. The Election Commission of India has decided to issue ‘Voter Information Slip’ to the voters in place of Photo Voter Slip. Voter Information Slip will include information like Polling Station, Date and Time of the poll etc., but not the photograph of the voter. Accordingly, all the District Election Officers has directed to distribute the Voter Information Slip at least 5 days before the date of poll to all enrolled electors. 3. It is also clarified that if any elector uses an Elector’s Photo Identity Card, which has been issued by the Electoral Registration Officer of another Assembly Constituency, such cards shall also be taken into account provided the name of that elector finds place in the electoral roll pertaining to the polling station. The possession of Elector’s Photo Identity Cards or other form of identity prescribed by the Commission above will not entitle a person to exercise his/her vote, unless his/her name is found in the Electoral Roll supplied to the Polling Station.

Issued By: – DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai – 9.