All eyes on TN Assembly ahead of floor test

All eyes on TN Assembly ahead of floor test

Newly appointed chief minister Edappadi Palaniswami is confident of winning the trust vote in Tamil Nadu assembly, while the team led by O Panneerselvam is confident of defeating it.

The special session of legislative assembly would be convened at 11 AM. Palaniswamy, the Sasikala nominee for CM chair, claims to enjoy the support of 124 AIADMK MLAs.

Palaniswami was sworn in as Tamil Nadu’s 13th chief minister on Thursday after two weeks of intense infighting in the ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam.

Governor Vidyasagar Rao had given Palaniswami 15 days to prove his majority in the 233-member Assembly. But fearing dissent and defections, Palaniswami decided to get done with the floor test on Saturday.

The entire Assembly complex has come under heightened security and around 1,000 police personnel have been posted for duty.

Meanwhile, Minister K.A. Sengottayan has been appointed as the floor leader of the Tamil Nadu Assembly ahead of Saturday’s floor test. Sengottayan will monitor and manage the floor test’s proceedings.