EPS-OPS, Stalin thank people, hail Modi

The Edappadi K Palaniswami government in Tamil Nadu, which was surviving on a wafer-thin majority, appeared set to retain power with the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) managing to secure leads in 9 of the 22 Assembly seats for which by-polls were held.

Palaniswami and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam on Thursday thanked the voters of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry who voted for the AIADMK-led alliance in the Lok Sabha elections as well as the byelections to 22 assembly constituencies.

In a statement, they said, “The results of the elections show that the AIADMK alone is fit to rule Tamil Nadu. The people have voted for the continuance of this government. Though the AIADMK could not win the Lok Sabha elections, it has been established that the vote bank of the party remains intact.

Moreover, the notion that the party has no future after the death of the late leader, J Jayalalithaa, has been defeated in this election. We thank the voters for reaffirming our majority in the State Assembly.”

Meanwhile, assiduously working for a grand victory through the years, DMK President M K Stalin single-handedly steered his party through the long night, sweeping the Lok Sabha elections in Tamil Nadu after back to back poll debacles.

DMK appears set to win in all the 19 constituencies it fought and its allies MDMK, VCK (Villupuram), KMDK, and IJK who fought on the Rising Sun symbol of the Dravidian party are also likely to win in view of the huge margins, taking the Dravidian party’s total tally to 23 seats.

Stalin thanked people for supporting his party and alliance partners. He also congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the BJP’s massive successive victory.

“With folded hands, we accept the resounding victory given to the DMK alliance by the people of Tamil Nadu. During the next five years, we will work hard to fulfill the promises made and protect the interest of our state!,” he said.

He added: “I congratulate Prime Minister Narendra Modi on his victory. We hope and wish he will provide a progressive government based on the principles of democracy and inclusivity.”