EPS, OPS in Delhi; Stalin in AP

Leaders of prominent political parties in Tamil Nadu were out of the state today, to attend high profile swearing in ceremonies.

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, Deputy CM O Panneerselvam and other alliance leaders of the AIADMK-BJP left for New Delhi for the swearing in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

DMK president M K Stalin, along with senior leaders of his party, attended the swearing in ceremony of Jaganmohan Reddy as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh.

At the event, Reddy wished Stalin to become the CM of Tamil Nadu soon. Meanwhile, reports from the capital claim that O P Raveendranath Kumar, son of Panneerselvam, would become Union Minister.

According to a Foreign Ministry official, “The following leaders have confirmed their participation at the swearing-in ceremony of the Prime Minister: Md Abdul Hamid, President of Bangladesh; Maithripala Sirisena, President of Sri Lanka; Sooronbay Jeenbekov, President of the Kyrgyz Republic; U Win Myint, President of Myanmar; The Hon. Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Prime Minister of Mauritius; Rt Hon KP Sharma Oli, Prime Minister of Nepal; Dr Lotay Tshering, Prime Minister of Bhutan; and Grisada Boonrach, Special Envoy of Thailand.”

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance won 353 seats in which BJP alone won 303 seats forming the government with simple majority.

The Indian National Congress party won 52 seats, and the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance won 91. Other parties and their alliances won 98 seats. The general elections were held in seven phases and results were announced May 23.