EPS-OPS crack whip on TTV supporters, Dhinakaran denies tie-up with DMK

A day after the R K Nagar by-poll defeat, the ruling AIADMK on Monday cracked the whip against nine party functionaries, sacking four supporters of rebel leader T T V Dhinakaran from their posts and ousting five others from the party.

The AIADMK expelled two district secretaries of the party – South Chennai – North, VP Kalairajan and Tirunelveli Urban, Popular V Muthiah, besides Karnataka state secretary, V Pugazhendhi as well as party spokesman, Nanjil K Sampath and party women’s wing deputy secretary, CR Saraswathi from the primary membership of the party for indulging in ‘anti-party’ activities.

Reacting to the action, Dhinakaran supporters said neither EPS nor OPS had powers to expel them from the party and Dhinakaran is the real head of the AIADMK.

On his part, Dhinakaran, who pulled off a huge victory in Chennai’s RK Nagar – the assembly seat represented by former Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa till her death last year — brushed off the accusations of the AIADMK and the DMK.

Having a “tacit understanding” with the opposition DMK – which is the charge of the ruling AIADMK – was not possible, he said.

Speaking to reporters, Tamil Nadu Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam on Monday said no state minister met J Jayalalithaa during her hospitalisation and indicated that only her close aide VK Sasikala and her family had access to the late chief minister.