EC orders FIR against Edappadi, Dinakaran over RK Nagar bypoll bribery

The Election Commission of India has directed an FIR to be registered against Tamil Nadu chief minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, health minister C Vijayabaskar, AIADMK (Amma) deputy general secretary TTV Dhinakaran and others in connection to the R K Nagar bypoll bribery case.

The EC’s decision came in response to an RTI query demanding probe into alleged incident of “distributing money to voters” in R K Nagar ahead of bypolls on April 12.

A Chennai-based advocate M P Vairakkannan had filed the application under the Right to Information Act asking the ECI what action it proposed to take against Dhinakaran, Palaniswami, Vijayabaskar, School Education Minister K.A. Sengottaiyan, Municipal Administration Minister S.P. Velumani, Cooperation Minister Sellur K. Raju and Electricity Minister P. Thangamani for alleged election misconduct of distributing money to voters.

To this, the ECI responded on May 25, saying “The Commission has directed that an FIR may be filed by the Returning Officer, in the instant case vide Commission’s letter dated April 18, 2017.”

Meanwhile, opposition leaders in Tamil Nadu, including Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam working president M K Stalin have welcomed the Election Commission’s direction to file FIR against chief minister and others.

Stalin on Sunday flayed the “delay in filing an EC-recommended” criminal case against Palaniswami and other Ministers and warned that his party will approach the High Court if this was not done.