EC approves new bylaws of AIADMK, party posts of OPS-EPS

EC approves new bylaws of AIADMK, party posts of OPS-EPS

The Election Commission of India has approved the amended bylaws of the ruling AIADMK, thereby strengthening the position of party coordinator O Panneerselvam and joint coordinator Edappadi K Palaniswami within the party. The revised bylaw had done away with the post of party general secretary.

Put up under ‘Constitutions of Political Parties,’ the amended rules and regulations include the creation of new party posts, held by Panneerselvam and Palaniswami, respectively.

While Palaniswami is the Chief Minister of the state, Panneerselvam is his deputy. The two leaders had merged their led respective factions in August 2017.

OS Manian, minister for textiles and handlooms and a senior functionary of the AIADMK said, “As per our party by-laws we have to conduct the inter-party organisation election once in five years.

Since the EC approved the amended by-laws now, we will complete the membership drive within six months. After issuing the membership cards to our cadres, we will conduct the elections to select[functionaries] from grass roots level panchayat secretaries to the topmost coordinators and joint coordinators.”

The commission acknowledged the recent amendments to the bylaws and posted it online, taking into account communications received from Panneerselvam and Palaniswami in their official capacity as the new administrative heads of the party.

In the amended rules, the party has said, among others, that the late Jayalalithaa shall be the “eternal” General Secretary and that the post has been “abolished.”