EC accepts Jaya's thumb impression in nominations of AIADMK candidates

EC accepts Jaya’s thumb impression in nominations of AIADMK candidates

Election Commission of India has accepted the left thumb impression of Tamil Nadu chief minister and AIADMK general secretary J Jayalalithaa, in the forms submitted by her party’s candidates in Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Thirupparankundram constituencies.

Principal secretary to the Election Commission of India K F Wilfred said in a letter to CEO Rajesh Lakhoni, “The Commission has considered the matter and in view of the position explained in the letter of AIADMK, the Commission has specified the medical officer of any government hospital as the officer before whom the thumb impression may be affixed in forms A and B by Ms Jayalalithaa, and who may attest such thumb impression.”

On October 28, three AIADMK candidates filed nomination papers to contest elections in Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Thiruparankundram Assembly constituencies, with Jayalalithaa’s thumb impression instead of her signature.

The 68-year-old’s thumb impressions were authenticated by Dr P Balaji, a professor at Madras Medical College.

“The signatory has undergone tracheotomy recently and has an inflamed right hand she is temporarily unable to affix her signature. Hence she has affixed her left thumb impression on her own in my presence,” the professor wrote in a note added to the electoral affidavit.

As per the mandate under the Representation of People Act, a candidate contesting in an election representing a political party must submit the Form B wherein the party’s leader authorises her/him to contest on the party symbol. On October 28, the AIADMK’s candidates in the three seats submitted the Form B to the respective Returning Officers when it came to light that Ms Jayalalithaa’s left thumb impression had been affixed on the forms instead of her signature.