Durai Murugan, T R Baalu elected as DMK GS, treasurer; Rajini greets

S Durai Murugan and T R Baalu were elected as DMK general secretary and treasurer on Thursday. Both were elected unopposed. Durai Murugan succeeded K Anbazhagan, who was party general secretary for 43 years, until his death in March.

Several party functionaries, including Alandur MLA TM Anbararsan submitted applications on Durai Murugan’s behalf. Similarly, DMK’s floor leader in the Lok Sabha, Baalu also submitted his papers at Anna Arivalayam.

Many leaders including superstar Rajinikanth have greeted Durai Murugan and Baalu on their new assignments. Elections for the post of General Secretary, the second most powerful position, was necessitated after incumbent K Anbazhagan, a fellow traveller of DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi, died on March 7, 2020.

The GC was to meet in March but was postponed due to the Covid-19 lockdown. There is also a possibility of changes within the organisation being discussed during the GC meeting.

On Thursday, a meeting of DMK district secretaries discussed the initiatives needed to be undertaken for electing a new general secretary and treasurer for the party.

The DMK has convened a virtual meeting of the party’s general council on September 9. Since no one entered the fray, as expected by the party, both Durai Murugan and Baalu were announced as elected unopposed.