DMK names new candidate for RS poll to replace Vaiko in case of disqualification

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam today nominated senior advocate N R Elango as its one more candidate for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections.

Elango filed his papers at the Secretariat today, sources said and added that he would be the DMK’s candidate in case if MDMK general secretary Vaiko gets disqualified due to a recent court verdict which convicted him in a sedition case.

DMK President MK Stalin has nominated advocate P Wilson and M Shanmugam, General Secretary of the party’s Labour Progressive Front (LPF) for the ensuing Rajya Sabha polls to be held on July 18. As per the pre-poll agreement, the third seat was given to MDMK chief Vaiko.

If everything goes well, Vaiko will be making a re-entry into Parliament after a 15-year hiatus. His last term in Lok Sabha was between 1999 and 2004 as a member of the DMK-BJP alliance.

AIADMK MPs T Rathinavel, V Maitreyan, KR Arjunan and R Lakshmanan will be retiring from their six-year term on July 24 along with D Raja of the CPI. DMK’s Kanimozhi was elected to the Lok Sabha from the Thoothukudi Parliamentary constituency in the recently-held Lok Sabha Elections and her seat too is up for polls.

As per the existing strength in the State Assembly, AIADMK has got 123 MLAs and DMK has 100 MLAs, which means that each of the Dravidian majors can get three members elected to the Upper House from the state.

Shanmugam became a natural choice with his impressive track record of steering several labour related issues. Besides, he has been closely involved in maintaining Stalin’s Kolathur constituency with a large presence of trade unions.