DMK MLAs take oath today, AIADMK MLAs tomorrow

The swearing-in ceremony of the newly-elected Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam MLAs will take place at Fort St. George today, while the newly elected AIADMK legislators will take charge tomorrow.

According to R Sakkarapani, chief whip of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, “The newly elected 13 DMK MLAs will take oath on Tuesday at 11 am.”

Consequently, the tally of DMK MLAs will go up to 101. The party has gained a total of 13 more MLAs due to the recently concluded bypolls to 22 Assembly constituencies.

Meanwhile, on Sunday, Congress leader H. Vasantha Kumar, who was elected from the Kanniyakumari Lok Sabha constituency, met DMK president M.K. Stalin.

He announced his decision to quit from the post following his victory in the Lok Sabha election in Kanyakumari parliamentary constituency.

Vasanthakumar, who is the proprietor of Vasanth & Co brand of consumer retail outlets is a sitting MLA from the Nanguneri assembly constituency.

The AIADMK government led by Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami is to stay in power, as the party has won in 9 out of the 22 Assembly seats in the by-elections. The DMK has won in 13 constituencies.

Going by the results, the ruling party, which already had a strength of 114 AIADMK legislators (including the Speaker) going into the polls, now has a tally 123 legislators in the House.