Curtains come down on nomainations for TN Assembly polls

On the last day of filing of nominations on Friday, candidates of several parties thronged the election offices to file their papers.

Election Commission sources said more than 4,500 candidates, including over 3,500 men and more than 700 women, have filed their papers for the 234-Assembly seats.

For the Kanniyakumari bypoll, which had necessitated following the death of Congress MP H Vasanthakumar, a total of 12 nominations, including a woman, have been filed.

The seat will witness a direct fight between former Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan of BJP and Vasanthakumar’s son Vijay Vasanth of Congress.

The scrutiny of nominations will take place tomorrow and the last date for withdrawals is 22 March, after which the total number of candidates in the fray will be known.

This election is very crucial for both the AIADMK and DMK as they are facing the voters in the absence of two tall leaders and late Chief Ministers J Jayalalithaa and M Karunanidhi.