BJP to pick Gujarat Chief Minister today

After registering a record-smashing victory in the Gujarat Assembly elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA is holding a Legislative Party meeting today to pick a new leader for the post of chief minister in the state capital Gandhinagar.

In the meeting, current Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel will be picked up for the second term in office.

On Thursday, Bhupendra Patel tendered his resignation along with his entire cabinet to form a new government.

He will take oath as the new chief minister of the state on December 12.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah will attend the ceremony.

The party observers – senior BJP leaders Rajnath Singh, B S Yediyurappa and Arjun Munda – are attending the legislative party meeting.

The Bharatiya Janata Party swept the Gujarat Assembly elections with a historic landslide victory.

The party broke all the records for the number of seats won by any party in the state.

It took 156 seats of the state’s 182 assembly seats — a record in its own right. The previous record was for 149 seats in 1985 when the Indian National Congress under Madhav Singh Solanki won the Assembly.