BJP set for historic return in Uttar Pradesh, party extends lead in Uttarakhand and Goa as well

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) crossed the majority mark in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, while the  party also leads in Goa and Manipur. Meanwhile, in Punjab, the early trends show the Aam Aadmi Party crossing the majority mark.

Yogi Adityanath looked set to make history by becoming the first Uttar Pradesh CM to return to power after completing a full five-year term in office as of 11:30 am, the Bharatiya Janata Party was leading on 265 seats while the Samajwadi Party was leading on 123. The Bahujan Samaj Party and Congress were far behind in single digits.

In Punjab, according to the early trends available from 117 constituencies, Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP is leading on 89 seats. The Congress, which is seeking to retain power in Punjab, has witnessed an internal crisis in the run-up to the polls. The party is currently leading on 15 seats, with Punjab CM Charanjit Singh Channi trailing from both the constituencies he contested from – Chamkaur Sahib and Bhadaur.

As per early trends available for all 40 assembly constituencies in Goa, the BJP are leading on 18 seats with the Congress trailing close behind with lead on 12 seats.

As counting of votes began in Manipur, the early trend shows the Bharatiya Janata Party leading in the state. As of 11:30 am, BJP was leading on 27 seats, while the Congress is trailing behind with lead on nine seats.

In Uttarakhand, the BJP has taken a comfortable lead, with the party leading on 42 seats. The Congress is trailing behind on 23 seats.