Bengal ministers to be sworn in today

Forty-three ministers will be sworn in today as part of Mamata Banerjee’s team as she begins her third term as Chief Minister of West Bengal.

The team has 25 incumbent faces and 18 new ones. Out of 43, nine will be ministers of state.

Two ministers will be sworn in virtually, Amit Mitra, as he has not been keeping well and Bratya Bose who is recovering from COVID-19.

Veterans Subrata Mukherjee, Partha Chatterjee, Firhad Hakim, Aroop Biswas, Sujit Bose, Chandrima Bhattacharya and Shashi Panja are back as ministers.

Manas Bhuian, who was Rajya Sabha MP and fought the Assembly poll this time, is in.

So is Akhil Giri, a loyalist from East Midnapore, turncoat Suvendu Adhikari’s district, and Arup Roy from Howrah, the district of yet another rebel leader Rajib Banerjee.

Birbaha Hansda, a star of Santhali cinema who contested for the first time, is a minister of state.

Former IPS officer Humayun Kabir is on the list too as minister.