Banwarilal Purohit is TN governor

Putting rest to all speculations, the President of India today named Banwarilal Purohit as new Governor of Tamil Nadu. Purohit is presently the Governor of Assam.

President Ramnath Kovind also appointed Brig. (Dr.) B. D. Mishra (Retd.) as the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh, Satya Pal Malik as the Governor of Bihar, Jagdish Mukhi as the Governor of Assam and Ganga Prasad as the Governor of Meghalaya.

Purohit is from Vidarbha region. He was appointed as Governor of Assam State by President of India on 17 August 2016. He was a Member of Parliament from the Nagpur (Lok Sabha constituency) three times, twice as an Indian National Congress member, once as a BJP member.

In 2003, he launched his own party called Vidarbha Rajya Party and contested the Lok Sabha elections from Nagpur in 2004.

In 2009 he again contested on BJP’s ticket but lost the election to Vilas Muttemwar of Indian National Congress.