As per final list, 845 candidates in fray in Tamil Nadu

A total of 845 candidates will be contesting from 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu, as per the final tally announced by Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo.

A total of 2,105 nominations were received for 39-Lok Sabha constituencies (1,587 nominations) and the by-elections for 18 assembly seats (518 nominations) in Tamil Nadu. The election is scheduled for April 18.

The final list of candidates was released by Satyabrata Sahoo Friday. As many as 92 candidates withdrew from the electoral race for the Lok Sabha polls, leaving 845 in the fray.

Of the 845 candidates, 779 were men, while 65 were women. One person from the Third Gender also had filed nomination. Karur topped the list with 42 candidates while the reserved Nilgiris constituency had just 10 contenders.

Similarly, for the assembly bye-elections, Gudiyatham assembly constituency will have the lowest number of candidates at seven and Perambur will have the highest candidates for the by-polls at 40.

According to the data of the ECI as on March 29, the officials across Tamil Nadu have seized 72.94 crore cash since the Model Code of Conduct came into force. The quantity of gold and silver seized till Friday stood at 608 kilograms collectively worth Rs 74.47 crore. While the quantity of gold seized is 261 kilograms, silver seized stood at 346.7 kilograms.

Rs 50.20 crore unaccounted cash and 223 kg of gold had been seized by the flying squad across the state till Wednesday. According to Sahoo, 44 cases related to the model code of conduct violations have been registered.