Amit Shah gets Home, Rajnath Defence in Modi’s new Cabinet

A day after the Cabinet led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi took charge, portfolios of the Ministers were released today by the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

While BJP national president Amit Shah has received Home ministry, Rajnath has been given Defence. S Jaishankar will be new External Affairs minister. Smriti Irani will be minister for Women and Child Development, Textiles.

While Piyush Goyal has retained Railway, Nirmala Sitharaman is the new Finance minister and Prakash Javadekar has been given Information and Broadcasting as well as Environment portfolios.

Nitin Gadkari will retain Ministry of Road Transport and Highways; while Dharmedra Pradhan will remain petroleum minister. Ram Vilas Paswam will continue Consumer Affairs Minister while Agriculture goes to Narendra Singh Tomar who also gets Rural Development.

Ravi Shankar Prasad has been given Telecom besides retaining his old portfolios of Law and I-T, Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank will be HRD minister. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will retain DoPT, Atomic Energy; all important policy issues and portfolios not allocated.

Following a massive victory in the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections, Narendra Modi was on Thursday sworn in as the Prime Minister for a second term helming a 58-member ministry.

Modi was administered the oath of office and secrecy by President Ram Nath Kovind at a glittering ceremony just before sunset at the forecourt of majestic Rashtrapati Bhavan, capping a landslide win for the BJP which won 303 of the 542 seats.

“Honoured to serve India!” tweeted Modi after taking the oath.