AIADMK wins all 3 seats in TN, Rangasamy wins in Pondy

AIADMK wins all 3 seats in TN, Narayanasamy wins in Pondy

The ruling AIADMK won Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Thirupparankundram elections today, while Puducherry chief minister Narayanasamy emerged triumphant at Nellithope constituency.

Right from the beginning of the counting of votes this morning, AIADMK candidates Senthil Balaji, Rangasamy and Bose were leading in Aravakurichi, Thanjavur and Thirupparankundram respectively. While Narayanasamy was leading in Nellithope.

A total of 225 counting personnel have been deployed to initiate counting process in 14 tables. Each counting table had a micro observer apart from counting staff.

The micro observer was a central government employee, the CEO said. In a statement on Monday, the CEO said that only a maximum of four persons could accompany the candidate to the office of the returning officer, while receiving the certificate of election.

Campaign ended on Thursday with AIADMK and DMK trading charges against each other and Election Commission advising voters to ensure that indelible ink is marked only in right hand while exchanging currency notes.

Saturday’s election saw a direct fight between ruling AIADMK and principal Opposition DMK in all three constituencies.