AIADMK to contest in K’taka polls, names candidates

The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), the ruling party of Tamil Nadu has announced its decision to contest in the Assembly elections in Karnataka.
AIADMK coordinator O Panneerselvam and co-coordinator K Palaniswami, deputy chief minister and chief minister of Tamil Nadu, respectively, announced their party’s candidates for Hanur, Gandhinagar and Kolar Gold field Assembly segments.
MP Yuvaraj is the party’s pick for Gandhinagar while RP Vishnukumar and M Anbu will contest from Hanur and Kolar Gold Fields respectively.
The AIADMK had contested five seats in the 2013 elections. It is to be noted that Congress and BJP are locked in a fierce fight in the May 12 elections to 224 assembly constituencies in Karnataka.
In a joint statement, the CM and the deputy CM said the governing council of the party has taken the decision to contest in the Karnataka Assembly elections, slated to be held on May 12.