AIADMK sacks former Minister from party

AIADMK on Friday sacked former AIADMK minister Nilofar Kafeel from the party’s primary membership.

A joint statement from the AIADMK headquarters signed by coordinator O Panneerselvam and his deputy Edappadi K Palaniswami said that the Tirupattur deputy district secretary and party high-level committee member Nilofar Kafeel had worked against the party’s interest.

The former Minister is dismissed from the party and relieved from all the posts including the primary membership, the statement said.

The AIADMK leaders also asked the party members not to have any contact with Kafeel who was earlier denied the MLA seat by the AIADMK. Three AIADMK ministers lost their sitting seats Nilofar Kafeel, G Baskaran and S Valarmathi as the seats were allotted to the AIADMK alliance partners.

According to party insiders, a strong internal feud prevailed between Nilofar and local AIADMK district secretary KC Veeramani, though both were ministers in the AIADMK cabinet, Veeramani had a vociferous voice in the party suppressing the supporters of Nilofar. An agitated Nilofar also worked against the minister and the party faced a rout in the Vellore district. Nilofar was in touch with the DMK members and had helped the Jolarpettai DMK candidate Devaraj to win against her bete noire Veeramani.