AIADMK MLAs including Palaniswami arrested for protest, released

AIADMK MLAs and cadre, led by Leader of Opposition Edappadi K Palaniswami, were arrested by the city police and taken to Rajarathinam Stadium in Egmore, Chennai, on Wednesday for staging a protest though the police’s denied permission for the token fast they announced on Tuesday.

The AIADMK members were detained and taken to the stadium on a bus, and later released in the evening.

The MLAs boycotted the last day of the three-day Assembly session on Wednesday, demanding that the Speaker accept RB Udayakumar as the deputy floor leader instead of former chief minister O Panneerselvam.
The party members gathered at Valluvarkottam to stage a fast, and raised slogans against the DMK.

Among the AIADMK leaders arrested were Palaniswami, SP Velumani and D Jayakumar. They and other party members were on a fast in the stadium, and broke it being being let off by the police.

Speaking to reporters at the stadium, Palaniswami alleged democracy was being murdered and Chief Minister MK Stalin was trying to demolish the AIADMK through Panneerselvam.