AIADMK, DMK start campaign after announcing candidates for by-polls, Congress to name contestant tomorrow

The ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and the Opposition Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) have announced their candidates for the assembly bye-election in Vikravandi and Nanguneri constituencies in Tamil Nadu.

A day after DMK named its candidate for Vikravandi (it has allocated Nanguneri to its alliance partner Congress) AIADMK on Wednesday fielded long time party loyalists with the aim to win back Vikravandi and Nanguneri assembly seats in Tamil Nadu, lost in 2016, from the DMK and the Congress.

The AIADMK named MR Muthamizhselvan and Rettiyarpatti V Narayanan as their candidates for Vikravandi and Nanguneri assembly constituencies. Muthamizhselvan is the secretary of Kanai Union in the Villupuram district unit and Narayanan is the joint secretary of the MGR Mandram in the Tirunelveli district unit of the party.

The DMK is seeking re-election from Vikravandi and has fielded N Pugazhenthi, while allotting Nanguneri to ally Congress. Both the main opposition DMK and the ruling AIADMK have started campaign for the by-polls, while the Congress is expected to name its candidate only tomorrow (Friday).

Nanguneri held by the Congress fell vacant after the incumbent MLA H Vasanthakumar resigned following his election to the Lok Sabha from Kanniyakumari. The bypoll in Vikravandi is necessitated due to the death of DMK legislator K Radhamani.

Former DMK Minister Ponmudi said “A total of 12 cadres participated in the interview and Pugazhendhi has been selected by our leader to contest in the Vikravandi constituency. I hope all our party and our alliance cadres will support Pugazhendhi in this election. I do not doubt that DMK will win by a huge margin. Our leader’s effort will pave the way for our success.”

The last date for filing nominations will be September 30. The date for scrutiny of nominations will take place on October 1 and the last date for withdrawal of candidatures will be October 3.