AIADMK candidates ready to file nominations, prayers continue for Jaya

AIADMK candidates ready to file nominations, prayers continue for Jaya

Now that AIADMK general secretary and Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa has announced names of her party candidates for the local body elections in the state, her party’s contestants are getting ready to file nominations.

Meanwhile, AIADMK cadre continued to organise special ‘poojas’ for the speedy recovery of Jayalalithaa, who is in hospital.

Though doctors at the Apollo Hospitals on Sunday made it clear that Jayalalithaa was recovering well and would be discharged after some days, scores of party functionaries continued to camp near the hospital praying for her good health. Some of the cadre have made arrangements for prayers at some famed temples in the coming days.

A day after the State Election Commission notified the local body poll schedule, the ruling AIADMK released its list of candidates for the post of councillor in the all the 12 Municipal Corporations in Tamil Nadu.

Of the 12 Mayors, only three – from Salem, Tiruchy and Thanjavur – have been given party ticket to contest this time. In Salem, sitting Mayor S Soundappan is contesting again while Deputy Mayor M Natesan is also given party ticket again.

In Tiruchy, sitting Mayor MSR Jaya is contesting from ward No 51 while former Mayor Charubala Thondaiman who had recently joined the AIADMK, is contesting from ward No.44.

Jayalalithaa was taken to Apollo Hospitals after she suffered from dehydration and high fever. Her followers offered prayers in temples for her well-being and speedy recovery.