AIADMK candidates list ready, TMC joins AIADMK-BJP alliance

The AIADMK, sources said, is done with its candidate selection process for the April 18 Lok Sabha elections in the state, and the list will be out soon.

Meanwhile, the AIADMK Wednesday allotted one Lok Sabha seat to the Tamil Maanila Congress (TMC) led by former union minister G K Vasan as it concluded the alliance formation for the coming elections in Tamil Nadu.

The AIADMK has already apportioned 19 Lok Sabha seats (from 39 in Tamil Nadu besides the lone seat in Puducherry) among its allies – the PMK, BJP, DMDK, N R Congress, Puthiya Tamizhagam and New Justice Party while retaining 21 seats with it. TMC is the seventh party to join the mega alliance of the AIADMK.

After witnessing multi-cornered contests in two elections, Tamil Nadu politics is back to its time-tested bi-polar mode. Both the ruling AIADMK and the principal opposition DMK are leading alliances with a mix of national and regional parties for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

The agreement between AIADMK and TMC was signed by AIADMK Coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and Joint Coordinator and Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and Vasan.

Addressing the media, Panneerselvam said, “AIADMK and TMC have formed an alliance to fight the Lok Sabha polls. According to the agreement that was reached today, TMC has been allocated one seat. The party will also extend support to AIADMK in the bypolls to be held in 21 assembly constituencies.”

TMC is the last party to come into the mega alliance stitched by the NDA in the state. With this, the AIADMK has completed its seat sharing exercise with alliance partners and the ruling party will contest in 20 seats.