9 new AIADMK members take oath as MLAs

Nine new All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) MLAs were administered oath of office by Speaker P Dhanapal in Chennai today.

Speaker P Dhanapal administered the oath of office to the new party MLAs at his chamber in the Secretariat in Chennai.

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, AIADMK coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam, who is also the Leader of the House and senior leaders were present on the occasion.

The nine MLAs and their constituencies are: P. Kandhasamy (Sulur), G. Sampath (Sholinghur), A. Govindasamy (Pappireddipatti), V. Sampathkumar (Harur), S. Thenmozhi (Nilakkottai), S. Nagarajan (Manamadurai), M.S.R. Rajavarman (Sattur), P. Chinnappan (Vilathikulam) and N. Sathan Prabhakar (Paramakudi).

On Tuesday, 13 DMK members, who won in the recently held by-polls in the state, were administered the oath of office by Assembly Speaker Dhanapal.

Though DMK candidates won 13 of the 22 seats where bypolls were held, the ruling AIADMK, by winning 9 seats, increased its tally in the House to 123 — well past the required 117 for establishing a majority.

DMK president and Leader of the Opposition M K Stalin was on Tuesday non-committal on pursuing a no-confidence motion against Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal. When asked about it, he merely said, “Wait and see.”

“You are going to watch what we are going to do. Till now, the date of the assembly session in Tamil Nadu is not announced, after that announcement, we will take a decision (on bringing a no-confidence motion),” Stalin said at a press conference.