6 elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from TN

All the six candidates– four from the ruling AIADMK and two from opposition DMK– were today elected unopposed as Rajya Sabha members from the Tamil Nadu Assembly.

According to a press release from A.M.P. Jamaludeen, Returning Officer and Secretary of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Secretariat, T.K.S. Elangovan and R.S. Bharathi of DMK; A. Navaneethakrishnan, S.R. Balasubramoniyan, A. Vijayakumar and R. Vaithilingam of the AIADMK have been elected.

Though seven independent candidates had filed nominations to contest biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha, returning officer A. M. P. Jamaludeen, who is also the Tamil Nadu Assembly Secretary, rejected their nominations for want of enough support from MLAs.

6 elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from TN

The terms of AIADMK’s Navaneethakrishnan, AW Rabi Bernard and PH Paul Manoj Pandian and DMK’s KP Ramalingam and S Thangavelu and former Union Minister and Congress leader EM Sudarsana Natchiappan, will end in June.

Since the AIADMK won 134 seats in the May 16 Assembly elections, the party nominated four members based on its strength in the Assembly and the DMK, which won 98, fielded two candidates.

The scrutiny of nominations was held on Wednesday and papers of seven independents were found to be invalid. The AIADMK