6 candidates from TN set to be elected unopposed to RS

Three candidates each from the ruling AIADMK and the Opposition DMK were all set to be elected to the Rajya Sabha from the Tamil Nadu Assembly as their nomination papers were found in order on scrutiny on Tuesday.

An official release said three nominations were rejected, leaving only the six in the fray. The candidature of Thambidurai and K P Munusamy (both AIADMK,) TMC(M) leader G K Vasan, DMK’s N R Elango, P Selvaraj and Tiruchy Siva were accepted following scrutiny, it said.

Vasan, whose party is an ally of the AIADMK, was accommodated by the ruling party, amidst a demand by another partner, the Vijayakanth-led DMDK, to allot it a Rajya Sabha seat. Siva, a sitting DMK MP, was fielded for a successive term. Thambidurai had lost the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Karur.

Six Rajya Sabha members from Tamil Nadu — Sasikala Pushpa, Vijila Sathyanath, S. Muthukaruppan, A.K. Selvaraj (all from AIADMK), Tiruchi Siva of DMK and T.K. Rangarajan of CPI-M — will retire on April 2.

As per the Election Commission”s schedule for the biennial elections, the polling will be held on March 26 and counting of votes taken up the same day.

The ruling AIADMK has 125 MLAs (including the Speaker) in the 234-member Assembly whereas the opposition DMK and its allies have 106 (DMK 98, Congress 7 and IUML 1).

Two seats remain vacant following the death of two DMK members. Each candidate needs the support of 33 MLAs and both the AIADMK and the DMK could win the polls without much ado.