56 candidates file nomination on first day

As many as 56 persons including Tamilnadu Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam filed their papers on the opening day of nominations for the 6 April  Assembly elections in Tamilnadu.

According to EC figures, one woman was among the 56 candidates who filed their nominations today.

Panneerselvam, the AIADMK Coordinator filed his nomination from Bodinayakkanur, from where he is seeking a third term, after visiting a temple.

State Ministers MC Sampath (Industries) and C Sreenivasan (Forest) filed their papers from Cuddalore and Dindigul, respectively.

DMK President M K Stalin said he will file his papers on Monday.

Meanwhile, Tamilnadu BJP state vice president Nainar Nagendran created a flutter on Friday by filing his nomination from the Tirunelveli assembly constituency ahead of the official release of the candidates’ list by the party.