5 MPs from TN take oath in Rajya Sabha

Five of the six Rajya Sabha members, elected from Tamil Nadu, took oath on Thursday in the Upper House in the presence of Chairman and Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu.

Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) leader and former Minister Anbumani Ramadoss was not sworn in, since he was in Tamil Nadu to take part in the 80th birthday celebrations of his father and PMK founder S Ramadoss.

Those who took oath on Thursday were All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’s (AIADMK) A. Muhammathjan and N. Chandrasekaran; Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’s (DMK) M. Shanmugam and P. Wilson and Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) founder Vaiko.

After taking oath, the new members were warmly greeted by Naidu and other members in the House by thumping of desks. Family, friends and supporters of the newly elected lawmakers watched the proceedings from the visitors’ gallery.

DMK leader Kanimozhi, whose term would have also expired along with the five members on July 24, quit her Rajya Sabha post following her election to the Lok Sabha from Thoothukudi in the recent election.

The vacancies in the Upper House also arose following the retirement of five members – T Rathinavel, V Maitreyan, K B Arjunan, R Lakshmanan (all AIADMK), D Raja (CPI).

With this Vaiko entered the Rajya Sabha after a gap of almost 23 years. Vaiko, 75, is the General Secretary of MDMK, his own political outfit which he floated after his separation from DMK.

He was earlier elected to the 12th and the 13th Lok Sabha representing Sivakasi Lok Sabha Seat. Vaiko’s MDMK contested the national polls in an alliance with MK Stalin’s DMK. As per the poll pact, DMK had promised a seat to MDMK in Rajya Sabha.