4 seats by-elections in TN: 137 in fray

A total of 137 candidates are in the final list in Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram (SC), Sulur and Tirupparankundram constituencies for the May 19 Assembly by-polls.

At present, 63 candidates are contesting in Aravakurichi, 15 in Ottapidaram, 22 in Sulur and 37 in Tirupparankundram. A total of 14,698 security personnel, including the paramilitary personnel, are being mobilised for the polls.

Seven AIADMK Ministers, who held a party workers’ meet in Ottapidaram, said the party was confident of winning by a margin of 75,000 votes.

DMK president and Opposition leader M K Stalin on Thursday asserted that the no-confidence motion proposed by him would prevent Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal from disqualifying the three AIADMK MLAs.

Campaigning for the DMK candidate Shanmugaiah in Ottapidaram Assembly constituency, he said, “Though he has issued notice to the three MLAs, he cannot act further in the wake of my issuing a notice to him on a no confidence motion on the Speaker himself. There is a Supreme Court judgment that is very clear that the Speaker cannot act as long as the no-confidence motion is pending.”

Director General of Police (Elections) Ashutosh Shukla on Thursday reviewed preparedness for the upcoming by election for Sulur assembly constituency.

He said that the number of surveillance team and flying squads were increased to prevent violation of Model Code of Conduct (MCC), specially distribution of money.

He added: “Already we have identified check posts at 35 places where force have been deployed to check vehicles entering Sulur constituency which shares parts of Tiruppur and Coimbatore districts. Any complaints regarding distribution of money and MCC violations can be reported to the control room at 1950.”