2 more MPs switch over from TTV to EPS camp

In yet another setback to sidelined AIADMK leader T T V Dhinakaran, two more Lok Sabha MPs representing Vellore and Dindigul constituencies in Tamil Nadu on Tuesday joined the ruling camp.

Dindugal MP Udhaykumar and Vellore MP Senguttavan have both expressed their support for the AIADMK led by Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam.

Rajya Sabha members A Navaneethakrishnan and Vijila Satyananth from TN and N Gokulakrishnan from Puducherry called on the CM at his Chennai residence on Monday and extended their support, it may be recalled.

The current exodus of MPs from the TTV camp is attributed to the threat of disqualification that could hang over them, especially after the Election Commission awarded the party name and symbol to the EPS/OPS group.

“They are switching loyalties for selfish reasons. They fear being disqualified,” TTV camp spokesman and disqualified Andipatti MLA, Thanga Tamilselvan, said.

A fortnight ago, V Maitreyan and two other party functionaries met Rajya Sabha secretary-general Desh Deepak Verma at Delhi and held discussions about the procedure for disqualifying rebel MPs.

Later, Maitreyan and other functionaries also called on Vice-President and Chairman of Rajya Sabha and reportedly discussed the issue.