139 candidates in fray in Thanjavur, Aravakurichi & Thirupparankundram

139 candidates in fray in Thanjavur, Aravakurichi & Thirupparankundram

A total of 139 candidates, including those from ruling AIADMK, opposition DMK and Bharatiya Janata Party, are in the fray for the November 19 election to three Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu as the filing of nominations ended on Wednesday.

According to sources in the Election Commission, a total of 59, 36 and 44 nominations were received in Aravakurichi, Thanjavur and Thiruparankundram Assembly constituencies respectively.

The nominations would be scrutinised on Thursday and candidates intending to withdraw their papers could do so on November 5.

Besides the AIADMK and DMK candidates, PMK, BJP and DMDK nominees too are contesting the polls. A number of Independents are also in the fray. The four-party combine, People’s Welfare Front (PWF), comprising MDMK, CPI(M), CPI and VCK, has boycotted the polls.

Following the polling on November 19 in these constituencies, counting of votes are scheduled on November 22.

The bypoll in Thiruparankundram was necessitated following the death of AIADMK member S.M. Seenivel. While the polling in Thanjavur and Aravakurichi was cancelled by the EC following ‘large scale malpractices’.