10 newly elected and re-elected MPs take oath

Union minister Hardeep Singh Puri was among the 10 newly elected and re-elected members of the Rajya Sabha from the states of UP, Uttarakhand and Karnataka who were administered oath in the Chamber of the Upper House on Monday.

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the administration of oath/affirmation was done in the chamber of the Rajya Sabha for the second time during inter-session.

The 10 members who took oath were Narayana Koragappa from Karnataka, Brijlal, Geeta alias Chandraprabha, Ramji, Hardwar Dubey, Hardeep Singh Puri, Neeraj Shekhar, B L Verma and Ram Gopal Yadav (all from Uttar Pradesh) and Naresh Bansal from Uttarakhand.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu welcomed the newly elected and re-elected members and conveyed his best wishes after the oath-taking ceremony.

India on Monday said the most important challenge facing the region is terrorism and that elimination of this threat will help it realise its true potential including in the economic sphere.

In an address at the virtual meet of the council of heads of government of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO), Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu particularly mentioned about cross-border terrorism and called for combating the menace under a collective approach.

In a clear reference to Pakistan, Naidu said: “We are particularly concerned about states that leverage terrorism as an instrument of state policy.”